Symphony N.1


Aguascalentes Symphony Orchestra (Mexico). Conductor Juan Trigos.

SKU: PMI00008 Categories: , ,

Instrumentation: *3*3*3*3 – 4431 – tmp+4 – hp, pf – str

Duration: 25′
Year: 2007
World Premiere: 2007

Symphony N.1

Since it was written in the height of the 21st century, it is valuable to inquire into the designation of symphony, structural tag that has suffered numerous mutations throughout time. In this sense, Juan Trigos says that this piece was designated as symphony, as a reference to the orchestral form of crucial aesthetic and historical importance. Evidently, it is not a classic symphonic form with its traditional four movement sequence. Instead, in Trigos’s own words, “it is an abstract vision of the symphony, which could have formal antecedents in pieces such as Carlos Chavez’s Sinfonía India (Indian Symphony) or Witold Lutoslawski’s Third Symphony.” In a tangential manner, the composer mentions as well as a possible reference Manuel Enriquez’s Sonatina, orchestral piece that contains all the necessary structural elements in a sole compact movement. At the same time, Trigos emphasizes that there is, in this score, a reinterpretation or reread of the symphonic principles a bit to the manner of Bruno Maderna, which refers to a singular concentration of the symphonic gesticulation from a somewhat abstract point of view.

This alternative vision of the concept of “symphony” by Juan Trigos implies, among other things, the application of an extremely sophisticated version of the processes of musical variation and, at the same time, the reestablishing of the structural and resounding elements to provide them diverse meanings. Thus, the composer proposes a piece in one sole movement, which in reality contains three united, indivisible parts.

As it has occurred in several of his significant scopes, the composer took a long time to make concrete, mature, and furnish it a final form. The first sketches of the piece begin to take shape towards the year 2004, but it is not until the year 2006 that the Symphony No. 1 acquires its definite profile. Always meticulous, Trigos makes the last revisions and finishing touches to the piece in early 2007, a few months before its first audition. The orchestra that the composer proposes for the symphony includes four trumpets instead of the traditional three, an important section of percussion (which is possible to identify in others of his pieces), and the addition of the piano and harp to the conventional orchestral endowment.

The Symphony No. 1 by Juan Trigos received its absolute debut on March 10, 2007, with the Orquesta Sinfónica Carlos Chávez, under the baton of the own composer.

Juan Arturo Brennan

Request a quote

Additional information





There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.